top of page

St. Giles is a beautiful 15th century church, with a nave and south aisle separated by an unusual colonade of Lundy Island granite pillars, beautiful stained glass windows and many historic features.  


It's chamfered Norman font is believed unique in Britain.   Read more about the church and it's history under  'About Us'.


St. Giles is also available for community gatherings, group meetings and exhibitions, small recitals etc., and has accessible toilet, small servery for refreshments, superb lighting and accoustics.   Please 'Get in Touch' for details.

Weddings and other 'life celebratory' events are our speciality!   Little Torrington is a 'picture postcard' village, with excellent family accommodation, a lovely village hall with good catering available and plenty of parking.    



Little Torrington was originally a Saxon settlement called Toritona.

By 1086 Little Torrington was considered a large settlement for its time with 33 households.

The first vicar for the church was recorded in 1259, although the current church of St Giles was created in the 15th century.

Little Torrington, along with Great Torrington, had a significant role in the English Civil War; the Battle of Torrington in 1646 marked the end of Royalist resistance in the region.


The population of Little Torrington fluctuated between 1801 and 2011  In 1801 it was 449, and from then the population continued to grow, reaching a peak of 623 residents in 1851.  The population in 2011 had recovered to 376 people.

bottom of page